CS455/555 Schedule (Archive of Spring 2022)

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs455-2022-spring/schedule.ics
Date
Subject
Due
Read before class
Assigned
Tuesday, Jan 25 1. Introduction; intro Aquinas ssh, unix, and git
Thursday, Jan 27 2. Concepts; concepts Stallings Ch. 1 (skim)
Tuesday, Feb 1 3. Malicious Software; malware CVEs sudo writeup sudo code sudo fix Florida water Baltimore Aquinas git Stallings § 6.1–6.8 Aquinas memsteal in C (or Go or Java or Python)
Thursday, Feb 3 4. Software Vulnerabilities; vulnerabilities top25 netping.c netping-not-fixed.c netping-fixed.c netping-fixed2.c sqlinjection.go xssd.go steald.go bankd.go traversal.c Stallings § 11.1–11.2
Tuesday, Feb 8 5. Symmetric Crypto; symmetric-crypto Aquinas memsteal in C (or Go or Java or Python) Stallings Ch. 20 Aquinas symcipher, hash, and network in C (or Go or Java or Python)
Thursday, Feb 10 6. More crypto, network programming, and HTTP; symmetric-crypto2 net-client.c ciphertext dictatk
Tuesday, Feb 15 7. Asymmetric Crypto; asymmetric-crypto Aquinas symcipher, hash, and network in C (or Go or Java or Python) Stallings Ch. 21 Aquinas asymcipher, sig, and httpproxy in C (or Go or Java or Python)
Thursday, Feb 17 8. Event-based programming; event-loops
Tuesday, Feb 22 9. Authentication; authentication Aquinas asymcipher, sig, and httpproxy in C (or Go or Java or Python) Stallings Ch. 3 Aquinas oidc in C (or Go or Java or Python)
Thursday, Feb 24 10. Single sign on; sso Stallings § 23.1
Tuesday, Mar 1 11. Access Controls; access-controls Aquinas oidc in C (or Go or Java or Python) Stallings Ch. 4 Aquinas selinux
Thursday, Mar 3 12. SELinux; selinux traditional.c
Tuesday, Mar 8 13. Review Aquinas selinux
Thursday, Mar 10 14. Exam 1
Tuesday, Mar 22 15. Software Security; software-security deadlock.c disorder.c double-free.c leak.c libc.c Makefile nonatomic.c reader.c uninit.c use-after-free.c Stallings § 11.3–11.5 Aquinas valgrind in C
Thursday, Mar 24 16. Exploit Countermeasures; software-security2
Tuesday, Mar 29 17. Database Security; db sql.go Aquinas valgrind in C Stallings Ch. 5 Aquinas fixsqlinjection in C
Thursday, Mar 31 18. Cloud Computing; cloud
Tuesday, Apr 5 19. Network Security; firewalls Aquinas fixsqlinjection in C Stallings Ch. 9 Aquinas x509
Thursday, Apr 7 20. Protocols: TLS; tls Stallings §§ 22.3–22.4, 23.2
Tuesday, Apr 12 21. Review Aquinas x509
Thursday, Apr 14 22. Exam 2
Tuesday, Apr 19 23. Web Application Security; web-security serve.c Stallings § 11.2: Cross-Site Scripting Attacks Aquinas fixxss in C
Thursday, Apr 21 24. Protocols: email; email MIME.txt Stallings §§ 22.1–22.2
Tuesday, Apr 26 25. Protocols: SSH; ssh Aquinas fixxss in C Aquinas smtp in C
Thursday, Apr 28 26. No class
Tuesday, May 3 27. Rootkits; rootkit.pdf Aquinas smtp in C Stallings § 6.9–6.10
Thursday, May 5 28. Review Graduate assignment (see syllabus)