CS120 Schedule

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs120/schedule.ics
Date Subject Due Read before class Assigned
Tuesday, Sep 8 Introduction A Aquinas computer, unix, git, and hello in Java
Thursday, Sep 10 Introduction B See above
Friday, Sep 11 Programming and tools; tools Think Java Ch. 1
Monday, Sep 14 Printing values; java-basics Aquinas git and hello in Java Think Java Ch. 2 Aquinas variables in Java
Tuesday, Sep 15 Printing lab Aquinas printf in Java and padding in Java
Thursday, Sep 17 Scanning lab Aquinas scanf in Java and hours in Java
Friday, Sep 18 Assignment and operators (Think Java Ch. 2)
Monday, Sep 21 Conditionals; conditionals Aquinas variables in Java Think Java Ch. 5 Aquinas easter in Java and zeller in Java
Tuesday, Sep 22 Operator lab Aquinas guess1 in Java
Thursday, Sep 24 Conditionals lab Aquinas guess3 in Java
Friday, Sep 25 Loops Think Java Ch. 7
Monday, Sep 28 Command-line interface Aquinas easter in Java and zeller in Java Think Java pp. 203–206 Aquinas expert in Java
Tuesday, Sep 29 Loopy lab Aquinas cli in Java
Thursday, Oct 1 Command-line lab Aquinas io in Java
Friday, Oct 2 Input, output, and error handling Think Java Ch. 3
Monday, Oct 5 Strings and debugging Aquinas expert in Java Think Java Ch. 9 and pp. 203–206 Aquinas grep in Java and mail in Java
Tuesday, Oct 6 I/O lab Aquinas io in Java
Thursday, Oct 8 Debugging lab Think Java Ch. 9 Aquinas debug in Java
Friday, Oct 9 Review
Monday, Oct 12 Exam 1 Aquinas grep in Java and mail in Java Think Java Ch. 8
Tuesday, Oct 13
Thursday, Oct 15
Friday, Oct 16 Arrays Think Java Ch. 8
Monday, Oct 19 Multi-dimensional arrays (Think Java Ch. 8) Aquinas sieve in Java
Tuesday, Oct 20 Arrays lab Aquinas arrays in Java
Thursday, Oct 22 Multi-dimensional arrays lab
Friday, Oct 23 Using methods Think Java Ch. 4
Monday, Oct 26 Writing methods Aquinas sieve in Java (Think Java Ch. 4) TBP: Methods
Tuesday, Oct 27 Using methods lab
Thursday, Oct 29 Writing methods lab
Friday, Oct 30 Static methods and variables (Think Java Ch. 4)
Monday, Nov 2 Void and non-void methods TBP: Methods Think Java Ch. 6 TBP: Methods 2
Tuesday, Nov 3 Static lab
Thursday, Nov 5 Void and non-void methods lab
Friday, Nov 6 Review
Monday, Nov 9 Exam 2 TBP: Methods 2
Tuesday, Nov 10
Thursday, Nov 12
Friday, Nov 13 Objects Think Java Ch. 10
Monday, Nov 16 Classes and interfaces Think Java Ch. 11 TBP: Objects
Tuesday, Nov 17 Classes and objects lab
Thursday, Nov 19 Interfaces lab
Friday, Nov 20 Events Think Java Ch. 12–13
Monday, Nov 23 Inheritance TBP: Objects Think Java Ch. 14 TBP: Objects 2
Tuesday, Nov 24 Event lab
Wednesday, Nov 25 Inheritance lab
Monday, Nov 30 Networking
Tuesday, Dec 1 Networking lab
Thursday, Dec 3 Networking lab (cont.)
Friday, Dec 4 Recursion
Monday, Dec 7 Randomness TBP: Objects 2 TBP: Networking
Tuesday, Dec 8 Recursion lab
Thursday, Dec 10 Randomness lab
Friday, Dec 11
Monday, Dec 14 Review TBP: Networking
Tuesday, Dec 15 Review
Saturday, Dec 19 Final exam: 7:45–9:45 a.m.