CS120 Schedule

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs120-2022-spring/schedule.ics
Date
Subject
Due
Read before class
Assigned
Monday, Jan 24 1. Introduction (Centennial 2201); intro Aquinas ssh, unix, git, and hello in Java
Tuesday, Jan 25 2. Setup lab (Wing 16) Think Java Ch. 1 (Aquinas ssh and unix)
Thursday, Jan 27 3. Programming, tools, variables, and operators (Centennial 2201); java-basics Think Java Ch. 2
Friday, Jan 28 4. Variables and operators lab (Wing 16) Aquinas variables in Java and easter in Java
Monday, Jan 31 5. Printing values; printing Aquinas git and hello in Java Think Java Ch. 3 Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java
Tuesday, Feb 1 6. Printing lab Aquinas printf in Java and padding in Java
Thursday, Feb 3 7. Reading values; scanning
Friday, Feb 4 8. Reading values lab Aquinas scanf in Java
Monday, Feb 7 9. void methods and scope; methods Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java Think Java Ch. 4 Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java
Tuesday, Feb 8 10. void methods lab Aquinas void in Java and jimmy in Java
Thursday, Feb 10 11. Value methods and testing; value-methods
Friday, Feb 11 12. Value methods lab Aquinas functions in Java and areafn in Java
Monday, Feb 14 13. Boolean logic and conditionals; conditionals Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java Think Java Ch. 5 Aquinas expert in Java
Tuesday, Feb 15 14. Conditionals lab Aquinas bool in Java, guess1 in Java, and grade2 in Java
Thursday, Feb 17 15. Loops; loops Think Java § 6.1–6.4
Friday, Feb 18 16. Loop lab Aquinas for in Java and guess3 in Java
Monday, Feb 21 17. Debugging; debug Aquinas expert in Java Think Java Appendix D
Tuesday, Feb 22 18. Debugging lab Aquinas debug in Java
Thursday, Feb 24 19. Exam 1
Friday, Feb 25 20. No class/lab
Monday, Feb 28 21. Strings; strings Think Java § 6.5–6.11 Aquinas histogram2 in Java
Tuesday, Mar 1 22. Strings lab Aquinas greets in Java
Thursday, Mar 3 23. Arrays and the command line; arrays Think Java Ch. 7 and § 9.4–9.6
Friday, Mar 4 24. Arrays and command-line lab Aquinas cli in Java and arrays in Java
Monday, Mar 7 25. Immutable objects immutable Aquinas histogram2 in Java Think Java § 9.1–9.3 and § 9.7–9.9 Aquinas swap in Java and poly in Java
Tuesday, Mar 8 26. Using immutable objects lab Aquinas geometry in Java
Thursday, Mar 10 27. Mutable objects objects Think Java Ch. 10
Friday, Mar 11 28. Using mutable objects lab Aquinas geometry2 in Java
Monday, Mar 21 29. Designing classes designing-classes Aquinas swap in Java and poly in Java Think Java Ch. 11 Aquinas triangle2 in Java
Tuesday, Mar 22 30. Writing classes lab Aquinas guest in Java
Thursday, Mar 24 31. Access and UML; access-and-uml
Friday, Mar 25 32. UML lab Aquinas uml in Java
Monday, Mar 28 33. Arrays of objects (cards); arrays-of-objects Card.java CardPrinter.java Aquinas triangle2 in Java Think Java Ch. 12 Aquinas library in Java
Tuesday, Mar 29 34. Searching lab Aquinas linearsearch in Java
Thursday, Mar 31 35. Objects of arrays (war); objects-of-arrays War.java Think Java Ch. 13
Friday, Apr 1 36. Sorting lab Aquinas selectionsort in Java
Monday, Apr 4 37. Exam review; exam2-review Aquinas library in Java
Tuesday, Apr 5
Thursday, Apr 7 39. Exam 2
Friday, Apr 8 40. No class/lab
Monday, Apr 11 41. Interfaces; interfaces Think Java Ch. 14 Aquinas macdonald in Java and macdonald2 in Java
Tuesday, Apr 12 42. Interfaces lab Aquinas busytown in Java
Thursday, Apr 14 43. Extending classes (crazy-eights); inheritance Eights.java
Friday, Apr 15 44. Extending classes lab Aquinas busytown2 in Java
Monday, Apr 18 45. Programming GUIs; gui Aquinas macdonald in Java and macdonald2 in Java Aquinas button in Java
Tuesday, Apr 19 46. Prepare GUI development environment Aquinas computer
Thursday, Apr 21
Friday, Apr 22 48. GUI lab Aquinas hello3 in Java
Monday, Apr 25 49. Programming GUIs 2; gui2 Hello.java Clock.java File.java Mouse.java Aquinas button in Java Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Apr 26 50. GUI lab 2 Aquinas typist in Java
Thursday, Apr 28 51. Programming GUIs 3; gui3
Friday, Apr 29 52. GUI lab 3 Aquinas metronome in Java
Monday, May 2 53. Recursion; recursion Aquinas whacka in Java Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, May 3 54. Recursion lab Aquinas recursion in Java
Thursday, May 5 55. Final exam review; final-review Think Java Ch. 8
Friday, May 6 56. Final lab period