CS120 Schedule

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs120-2022-fall/schedule.ics
Date
Subject
Due
Read before class
Assigned
Tuesday, Sep 6 1. Introduction (Wimberly 228); intro Aquinas ssh, unix, git, and hello in Java
Thursday, Sep 8 2. Obj. 14: Programming and tools (Wimberly 228); tools Think Java Ch. 1
Friday, Sep 9 3. Tools lab (Wing 16) (Aquinas ssh and unix)
Monday, Sep 12 4. Obj. 1 (=), 2a, 7: Variables, assignment, and operators (Wimberly 228); java-basics Aquinas git and hello in Java Think Java Ch. 2 Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java
Tuesday, Sep 13 5. Variables and operators lab (Wing 16) Aquinas variables in Java and easter in Java
Thursday, Sep 15 6. Obj. 3, 16, 17d, 17e: Printing and reading values (Wimberly 228); io video Think Java Ch. 3
Friday, Sep 16 7. Printing and reading values lab (Wing 16) Aquinas printf in Java, scanf in Java, and padding in Java
Monday, Sep 19 8. Obj. 1 (methods), 4, 5: void methods and scope; methods Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java Think Java Ch. 4 Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java
Tuesday, Sep 20 9. void methods lab Aquinas void in Java and jimmy in Java
Thursday, Sep 22 10. Obj. 11, 17c: Value methods and testing; value-methods
Friday, Sep 23 11. Value methods lab Aquinas functions in Java and areafn in Java
Monday, Sep 26 12. Obj. 1 (if), 2b, and 9 (cascading): Boolean logic and conditionals; conditionals Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java Think Java Ch. 5 Aquinas expert in Java
Tuesday, Sep 27 13. Conditionals lab Aquinas guess1 in Java, bool in Java, and grade2 in Java
Thursday, Sep 29 14. Obj. 1 (while, do, and for), 9 (counting loops): Loops; loops Think Java 6.1–6.8
Friday, Sep 30 15. Loop lab Aquinas for in Java and Aquinas guess3 in Java
Monday, Oct 3 16. Obj. 2c, 17a, 17b: Strings; strings Aquinas expert in Java Think Java 6.9–6.11
Tuesday, Oct 4 17. Strings lab Aquinas greets in Java
Thursday, Oct 6 18. Obj. 12 and 13: Debugging; debug Think Java Appendix D
Friday, Oct 7 19. Debugging lab (in person, alt. instructor) Aquinas debug in Java and zeller in Java
Monday, Oct 10 20. Exam 1 (in person, alt. instructor)
Tuesday, Oct 11 21. No class/lab
Thursday, Oct 13 22. Obj. 15: Arrays and the command line; arrays (pre-recorded video) Think Java Ch. 7 and 9.4–9.6
Friday, Oct 14 23. Arrays and command-line lab (in person, alt. instructor) Aquinas cli in Java and arrays in Java
Monday, Oct 17 24. No class Aquinas factor in Java
Tuesday, Oct 18 25. Catch-up lab
Thursday, Oct 20 26. Obj. 6 (null): Immutable objects; immutable Think Java Ch. 9
Friday, Oct 21 27. Using immutable objects lab Aquinas geometry in Java
Monday, Oct 24 28. Obj. 6 (orphans): Mutable objects; objects Aquinas factor in Java Think Java Ch. 10 Aquinas poly in Java
Tuesday, Oct 25 29. Using mutable objects lab Aquinas geometry2 in Java
Thursday, Oct 27 30. More mutable objects; more-objects Bounce.java
Friday, Oct 28 31. Using objects lab 2 Aquinas area in Java, and Aquinas volume in Java
Monday, Oct 31 32. Designing classes; designing-classes Aquinas poly in Java Think Java Ch. 11 Aquinas triangle2 in Java
Tuesday, Nov 1 33. Writing classes lab Aquinas guest in Java
Thursday, Nov 3 34. Obj. 4, 5, 8: Access and UML; access-and-uml
Friday, Nov 4 35. UML lab Aquinas uml in Java
Monday, Nov 7 36. Obj 9 (linear search): Arrays of objects (cards); arrays-of-objects Card.java CardPrinter.java Aquinas triangle2 in Java Think Java Ch. 12 Aquinas swap in Java and library in Java
Tuesday, Nov 8 37. Searching lab Aquinas linearsearch in Java
Thursday, Nov 10 38. Obj 9 (selection sort): Objects of arrays (war); objects-of-arrays War.java Think Java Ch. 13
Friday, Nov 11 39. Sorting lab Aquinas selectionsort in Java
Monday, Nov 14 40. Obj. 8: Interfaces; interfaces Aquinas swap in Java and library in Java Think Java Ch. 14 Aquinas vehicle in Java and vehicle2 in Java
Tuesday, Nov 15 41. Interfaces lab Aquinas macdonald in Java
Thursday, Nov 17 42. Obj. 8, 10: Extending classes (crazy-eights); inheritance Eights.java
Friday, Nov 18 43. Extending classes lab Aquinas macdonald2 in Java
Monday, Nov 21 44. Exam review Aquinas vehicle in Java and vehicle2 in Java
Tuesday, Nov 22 45. Prepare GUI development environment Aquinas computer
Wednesday, Nov 23 46. Exam 2 (Thanksgiving adjustment)
Thursday, Nov 24 47. Thanksgiving break
Friday, Nov 25 48. Thanksgiving break
Monday, Nov 28 49. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs; gui Widgets.java Aquinas button in Java
Tuesday, Nov 29 50. GUI lab 1 Aquinas hello3 in Java
Thursday, Dec 1 51. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs 2; gui2 Hello.java Clock.java File.java Mouse.java
Friday, Dec 2 52. GUI lab 2 Aquinas typist in Java
Monday, Dec 5 53. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs 3; gui3 Aquinas button in Java Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Dec 6 54. GUI lab 3 Aquinas metronome in Java
Thursday, Dec 8 55. Recursion; recursion Think Java Ch. 8
Friday, Dec 9 56. Recursion lab Aquinas recursion in Java
Monday, Dec 12 57. Final exam review; final-review Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Dec 13 58. Catch-up lab