CS120 Schedule

Students whose last names start with the letters A–J will be in Wing 16 on Tuesdays. The other students will be in Wing 16 on Thursdays.

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs120-2021-spring/schedule.ics
Date
Subject
Due
Read before class
Assigned
Monday, Feb 1 Introduction (SU 2130); intro Aquinas git and hello in Java
Tuesday, Feb 2 Tools lab (Wing 16 or Internet) Aquinas ssh
Thursday, Feb 4 Tools lab 2 (Wing 16 or Internet) Aquinas unix
Friday, Feb 5 Programming and tools (SU 2130); tools Think Java Ch. 1
Monday, Feb 8 Printing values; java-basics Aquinas git and hello in Java Think Java Ch. 2 Aquinas weeks in Java
Tuesday, Feb 9 Printing lab Aquinas variables in Java and printf in Java
Thursday, Feb 11 Scanning lab Aquinas scanf in Java and padding in Java
Friday, Feb 12 Variables, assignment, and operators (Think Java Ch. 2)
Monday, Feb 15 Conditionals; conditionals Aquinas weeks in Java Think Java Ch. 5 Aquinas expert in Java
Tuesday, Feb 16 Expressions lab Aquinas grade2 in Java and easter in Java
Thursday, Feb 18 Conditionals lab Aquinas guess1 in Java and zeller in Java
Friday, Feb 19 Loops; loops Think Java Ch. 7
Monday, Feb 22 Arrays and the command-line interface; arrays command line Histo.java Histo2.java Aquinas expert in Java Think Java Ch. 8 Aquinas multiple in Java, km in Java, and ordinals in Java
Tuesday, Feb 23 Loopy lab Aquinas for in Java and guess3 in Java
Thursday, Feb 25 Command-line lab Aquinas arrays in Java and cli in Java
Friday, Feb 26 Input, output, and error handling; io-errors Think Java Ch. 3
Monday, Mar 1 Strings and debugging; strings debug Aquinas multiple in Java, km in Java, and ordinals in Java Think Java Ch. 9 and Appendix C
Tuesday, Mar 2 Debugging lab Aquinas debug in Java
Thursday, Mar 4 Arrays lab Aquinas stats in Java
Friday, Mar 5 Exam 1 Review
Monday, Mar 8 Exam 1 Aquinas sieve in Java
Tuesday, Mar 9 No in-person lab this week
Thursday, Mar 11 No in-person lab this week
Friday, Mar 12 Static void methods; methods Think Java Ch. 4
Monday, Mar 15 Using static value methods; using-value-methods Aquinas sieve in Java (Think Java Ch. 4) Aquinas cylinder in Java
Tuesday, Mar 16 Void methods lab Aquinas void in Java and jimmy in Java
Thursday, Mar 18 Using value methods lab Aquinas area in Java and volume in Java
Friday, Mar 19 Scope; scope
Monday, Mar 22 Writing value methods; writing-value-methods Aquinas cylinder in Java Think Java Ch. 6 Aquinas majority in Java
Tuesday, Mar 23 Writing value methods lab Aquinas functions in Java, areafn in Java, and max in Java
Thursday, Mar 25
Friday, Mar 26 Non-static methods and using objects Think Java Ch. 10
Monday, Mar 29 Access, specialization, and writing classes; access-and-specialization writing-classes Card.java CardPrinter.java Aquinas majority in Java Think Java Ch. 11 Aquinas macdonald in Java and macdonald2 in Java
Tuesday, Mar 30 Using objects lab Aquinas geometry in Java
Thursday, Apr 1 Writing classes lab Aquinas guest in Java
Friday, Apr 2 Interfaces; interfaces
Monday, Apr 5 Inheritance; inheritance Eights.java Note: homework due Friday Think Java Ch. 12–14
Tuesday, Apr 6 Interfaces lab Aquinas vehicle in Java
Thursday, Apr 8 Inheritance lab Aquinas vehicle2 in Java
Friday, Apr 9 Exam 2 Review; exam2-review Aquinas macdonald in Java and macdonald2 in Java
Monday, Apr 12 Exam 2
Tuesday, Apr 13 Prepare GUI development environment Aquinas computer
Thursday, Apr 15
Friday, Apr 16 Programming GUIs
Monday, Apr 19 Programming GUIs 2 Aquinas button in Java
Tuesday, Apr 20 GUI lab Aquinas hello3 in Java
Thursday, Apr 22 GUI lab 2 Aquinas typist in Java
Friday, Apr 23 Programming GUIs 3 Aquinas button in Java Aquinas metronome in Java
Monday, Apr 26 Recursion Aquinas 9 TBP Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Apr 27
Thursday, Apr 29
Friday, Apr 30
Monday, May 3 Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, May 4
Thursday, May 6
Friday, May 7