CS120 Schedule (Archive of Fall 2021)

Calendar feed: https://www.flyn.org/courses/cs120-2021-fall/schedule.ics
Date
Subject
Due
Read before class
Assigned
Tuesday, Sep 7 1. Introduction (Centennial 2311); intro Aquinas ssh, unix, git, and hello in Java
Thursday, Sep 9 2. Obj. 14: Programming and tools (Centennial 2311); tools Think Java Ch. 1
Friday, Sep 10 3. Tools lab (Wing 16)
Monday, Sep 13 4. Obj. 1 (=), 2a, 7: Variables, assignment, and operators (Centennial 2311); java-basics Aquinas git and hello in Java Think Java Ch. 2 Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java
Tuesday, Sep 14 5. Variables and operators lab (Wing 16) Aquinas variables in Java and easter in Java
Thursday, Sep 16 6. Obj. 3, 16, 17d, 17e: Printing and reading values (Centennial 2311); io Think Java Ch. 3
Friday, Sep 17 7. Printing and scanning lab (Wing 16) Aquinas printf in Java, scanf in Java, and padding in Java
Monday, Sep 20 8. Obj. 1 (methods), 4, 5: void methods and scope; methods Aquinas era in Java and slugging in Java Think Java Ch. 4 Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java
Tuesday, Sep 21 9. void methods lab Aquinas void in Java and jimmy in Java
Thursday, Sep 23 10. Obj. 11, 17c: Value methods and testing value-methods
Friday, Sep 24 11. Value methods lab Aquinas functions in Java and areafn in Java
Monday, Sep 27 12. Obj. 1 (if), 2b, and 9 (cascading): Boolean logic and conditionals; conditionals Aquinas sphere in Java and cone in Java Think Java Ch. 5 Aquinas expert in Java
Tuesday, Sep 28 13. Boolean expressions lab Aquinas bool in Java
Thursday, Sep 30 14. Obj. 12 and 13: Debugging; debug
Friday, Oct 1 15. Conditionals lab Aquinas grade2 in Java, guess1 in Java, and zeller in Java
Monday, Oct 4 16. Obj. 1 (while, do, and for), 9 (counting loops): Loops; loops Aquinas expert in Java Think Java Ch. 6
Tuesday, Oct 5 17. Loop lab Aquinas for in Java and Aquinas guess3 in Java
Thursday, Oct 7 18. Obj. 2c, 17a, 17b: Strings strings
Friday, Oct 8
Monday, Oct 11 20. Exam 1 Aquinas greets in Java and swap in Java
Tuesday, Oct 12 21. No class/lab
Thursday, Oct 14 22. Obj. 15: Arrays; arrays Think Java Ch. 7
Friday, Oct 15 23. Arrays and debugging lab Aquinas arrays in Java and debug in Java
Monday, Oct 18 24. No class
Tuesday, Oct 19 25. No in-person lab Aquinas greets in Java and swap in Java Aquinas factor in Java
Thursday, Oct 21 26. Obj. 6 (null): Immutable objects and the command line; immutable-and-command-line Think Java Ch. 9
Friday, Oct 22 27. Command line lab Aquinas cli in Java, Aquinas area in Java, and Aquinas volume in Java
Monday, Oct 25 28. Obj. 6 (orphans): Mutable objects objects Aquinas factor in Java Think Java Ch. 10 Aquinas poly in Java
Tuesday, Oct 26 29. Using objects lab Aquinas geometry in Java
Thursday, Oct 28 30. More mutable objects; Bounce.java more-objects
Friday, Oct 29 31. Using objects lab 2 Aquinas geometry2 in Java
Monday, Nov 1 32. Designing classes designing-classes Aquinas poly in Java Think Java Ch. 11 Aquinas triangle2 in Java
Tuesday, Nov 2 33. Writing classes lab Aquinas guest in Java
Thursday, Nov 4 34. Obj. 4, 5, 8: Access and UML; access-and-uml
Friday, Nov 5 35. UML lab Aquinas uml in Java
Monday, Nov 8 36. Obj 9 (linear search): Arrays of objects (cards); arrays-of-objects Card.java CardPrinter.java Aquinas triangle2 in Java Think Java Ch. 12 Aquinas busytown in Java and busytown2 in Java
Tuesday, Nov 9 37. Searching lab Aquinas linearsearch in Java
Thursday, Nov 11 38. Obj 9 (selection sort): Objects of arrays (war); objects-of-arrays War.java Think Java Ch. 13
Friday, Nov 12 39. Sorting lab Aquinas selectionsort in Java
Monday, Nov 15 40. Obj. 8: Interfaces; interfaces Think Java Ch. 14
Tuesday, Nov 16 41. Interfaces lab Aquinas vehicle in Java
Thursday, Nov 18 42. Obj. 8, 10: Extending classes (crazy-eights); inheritance Eights.java
Friday, Nov 19 43. Extending classes lab Aquinas vehicle2 in Java
Monday, Nov 22 44. Exam 2
Tuesday, Nov 23 45. Prepare GUI development environment Aquinas computer
Wednesday, Nov 24 46. (Thanksgiving adjustment) Aquinas busytown in Java and busytown2 in Java
Thursday, Nov 25 47. Thanksgiving break
Friday, Nov 26 48. Thanksgiving break
Monday, Nov 29 49. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs; gui Widgets.java Aquinas button in Java
Tuesday, Nov 30 50. GUI lab 1 Aquinas hello3 in Java
Thursday, Dec 2 51. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs 2; gui2 Hello.java Clock.java File.java Mouse.java
Friday, Dec 3 52. GUI lab 2 Aquinas typist in Java
Monday, Dec 6 53. Obj. 9 (callback), 17f, 18: Programming GUIs 3; gui3 Aquinas button in Java Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Dec 7 54. GUI lab 3 Aquinas metronome in Java
Thursday, Dec 9 55. Recursion; recursion Think Java Ch. 8
Friday, Dec 10 56. Recursion lab Aquinas recursion in Java
Monday, Dec 13 57. Final exam review; final-review Aquinas whacka in Java
Tuesday, Dec 14 58. Final lab period
Wednesday, Dec 22 59. Final exam